Plenary Speakers
Plenary Speaker Times T.B.D.

A career in electron beams, plasmas and EM fields & waves: Everything I needed to succeed I learned in kindergarten


John Booske
2018 Plasma Science and Applications Award Recipient

John H. Booske received a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering in 1985 from the University of Michigan. From 1985 to 1989, he was a Research Scientist at the University of Maryland studying magnetically-confined hot ion plasmas and sheet-electron-beam free electron lasers. Since 1990, he has been in the Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he is now Department Chair and Director of the Wisconsin Collaboratory for Enhanced Learning. John is the Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor of Engineering and UW-Madison Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor. His research interests have included magnetic mirror-confined hot plasmas, plasma surface modification of materials, and experimental and theoretical studies of coherent electromagnetic radiation spanning the RF-to-THz frequency regimes. His recent research includes basic science of vacuum electronics, microfabrication of millimeter-wave and THz sources and components, generation and application of high-power microwaves, advanced cathodes, interaction of THz radiation with materials, microwave-generated plasma discharges, electromagnetic metamaterials, and biological applications of electric and electromagnetic fields. Prof. Booske is a Fellow of the IEEE and the American Physical Society.


Plenary Speaker Times T.B.D.

The Evolution of Computational Physics


John Cary
2016 Charles K. Birdsall Award Recipient

John Cary, Professor of Physics, University of Colorado, and CEO and co-founder, Tech-X Corporation, received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1979. He previously worked at Los Alamos National Laboratory and the Institute for Fusion Studies at the University of Texas. Dr. Cary’s recent service includes the NPSS Particle Accelerator Science and Technology student award committee, associate editor for Reviews of Modern Physics, and the organizing and program committees of the Particle Accelerator Conference. He has advised Ph.D. and Masters degree students and taught at all post-high-school levels. Prof. Cary’s interests are in computational physics including algorithm development and modern approaches, beam physics, plasma physics, nonlinear dynamics (separatrix crossing, Lie transform perturbation theory, symplectic integration), and electromagnetics of structures. Prof. Cary is a fellow of the American Physical Society with over 170 refereed publications. He received the John Dawson Prize for Numerical Simulation of Plasmas and other awards for visualization and research accomplishments. He is the 2016 recipient of the IEEE NPSS Charles K. Birdsall Award for Contributions to Computational Nuclear and Plasma Sciences.


Plenary Speaker Times T.B.D.

Computer Simulations of Plasmas and Beams: A View From Multiple Angles


Alex Friedman
2017 Charles K. Birdsall Award Recipient

Alex Friedman (M’13) received the B.S. degree in engineering physics and the Ph.D. degree in applied physics from Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA, in 1973 and 1980, respectively. He is a Physicist with the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), Livermore, CA, USA (where he serves as the Associate Program Leader for Theory and Modeling, in the Lab’s Fusion Energy Sciences Program), and an Affiliate with the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA, USA. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 published papers and numerous reports. His research interests include computational plasma and particle beam physics, computational electromagnetics, fusion energy science, accelerator physics and engineering, methods for data analysis, and numerical analysis. Dr. Friedman is a past Associate Editor of the Journal of Computational Physics, a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a recipient of the LLNL Physics Department’s Distinguished Achievement Award, and the 2017 recipient of the IEEE NPSS Charles K. Birdsall Award for Contributions to Computational Nuclear and Plasma Sciences.


Additional plenary speakers will be announced
through Spring 2018. Stay tuned!